September 24, 2011

  •  

    Today is my last day of retail. 

    I am albeit thrilled to call off my time at the mall and ratting around the frozen yogurt store after my shift. This means nights, weekends, and time for better art. Again, thrilled.

    Unfortunately, while I give birth to a new career, I watch things die today: a young man, a marriage. The gent is most certainly gone, the marriage, still might pull it out. 

    The young man: Note to self- never proclaim to an armed gunman multiple times, “Your gun will not fire.” As proven, an easy mugging ended in total disaster, and now one more reason not to engage in proclaiming things away. Guns will fire, people will die, tornadoes will annihilate. Someone is unfortunately having one hell of a year. My prayers go out to you.

    The marriage: This particularly kills me, as these things are immortal and sacred whispers. These oaths we swear in front of God and family confirm what we assure each other- ’til I pop you in the ground, you’re all I want. If he holds steadfast… that might brace them in this gail.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *